My “Go to” Strawberry Banana Smoothie | Gluten Free and Dairy Free

Smoothies are one of my favorite snacks or “meals”.  They are so versatile and can be made with virtually any frozen fruit that you have in the freezer.  For me, my favorite is the classic Strawberry Banana Smoothie but I like to “kick it up a notch” (throwback to Emeril Lagasse for all my old school friends) with some healthy add ins such as oatmeal, whole almonds or flax seed.  There is not much difference in the flavor of the smoothie but definitely enhances the nutritional value.  So, with that being said, here is how I make my delicious smoothie.

Step 1:

Fruit.

Add 1/2 of a frozen banana and 5 to 6  frozen strawberries, depending on size to your blending mug.  Make sure your fruit is frozen for more of a smoothie texture.

14924674099901573363426
Here I am using The NutriBullet, my favorite tool in the kitchen to prepare my smoothie.

Step 2:

Add-Ins.

Like I said earlier, there are multiple things you can add to your smoothie to give it a nutritional boost but my favorite is Ground Flax Seeds.  They are full of Omega-3’s and fatty Acids that support heart health, full of fiber and add extra protein to keep you fuller, longer.  I use 1 Tablespoon in my smoothie.

14924685391831906318601
I am using Bob’s Red Mill Premium Whole Ground Flaxseed Meal.

Add your flax seeds to your smoothie.

1492469087991947704993

Step 3:

Yogurt.

Since I am Dairy Free, I like to use vegan yogurt.  Now, I have tried MULTIPLE dairy free yogurt varieties.  Some have been good and some have just been plain nasty, but my absolute favorite is Silk Almond in the flavor Plain.  It is thick and creamy, perfect for this smoothie.

1492469784997-1952247878
PIctured here is Silk Almond Dairy Free yogurt Alternative in plain. It is non GMO, Vegan, carrageenan free, gluten free and cholesterol free.

Step 4:

Milk.

I have another favorite Silk product and it is Silk Almond Milk.  It has a really nice “milk” flavor, once you get used to it.  This was the first non dairy milk I started using and even though I have strayed a couple of times from it, I always go back.  It’s just the best in my opinion.  Add about a 1/2 to 3/4 of a cup to your smoothie.

1492470698547162887069
PIctured here is Silk Unsweetened Almond Flavor. It only has 30 calories per cup compared to regular milk that contains 120 calories per cup.

Step 5:

Blend.

Screw on the top to your Magic Bullet or blender and blend it up!  Top with ground flax seeds for garnish.

1492471351530762888070

ENJOY!!!

I hope you enjoyed this.  If you did, please make sure you subscribe to my blog so you can get notified every time I put out a new post.  You should get a notification to subscribe on this page.  Have a Blessed Day!

2 thoughts on “My “Go to” Strawberry Banana Smoothie | Gluten Free and Dairy Free”

  1. Love my smoothies!! With lupus and fibro I have heard gluten free diet, so this is very interesting and exciting to read! I am thinking of all the things you have blogged about it is crazy.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

